Allow trim on any file type
authorDan Ehrenberg <dehrenberg@chromium.org>
Tue, 14 Apr 2015 22:58:14 +0000 (15:58 -0700)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
Wed, 15 Apr 2015 00:16:17 +0000 (18:16 -0600)
The mtd fio engine will support trim (interpreted as erase). There is
no particular reason to tie trims to block devices, as it is only a
particular ioengine which calls the trim ioctl, not generic code.
This patch simply removes the test which checks that trim is only
run on block devices.

Signed-off-by: Dan Ehrenberg <dehrenberg@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
filesetup.c

index 09e877f..79e5df1 100644 (file)
@@ -512,11 +512,6 @@ int generic_open_file(struct thread_data *td, struct fio_file *f)
 
        dprint(FD_FILE, "fd open %s\n", f->file_name);
 
-       if (td_trim(td) && f->filetype != FIO_TYPE_BD) {
-               log_err("fio: trim only applies to block device\n");
-               return 1;
-       }
-
        if (!strcmp(f->file_name, "-")) {
                if (td_rw(td)) {
                        log_err("fio: can't read/write to stdin/out\n");