summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>2022-03-04 20:28:58 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2022-03-05 11:08:32 -0800
commit942341dcc5748d9c1fc7009a359fc1916bfe0ef0 (patch)
tree5ea3c3490cca16918a228267f246f029dd065307
parent96403e11283def1d1c465c8279514c9a504d8630 (diff)
mm: fix use-after-free when anon vma name is used after vma is freed
When adjacent vmas are being merged it can result in the vma that was originally passed to madvise_update_vma being destroyed. In the current implementation, the name parameter passed to madvise_update_vma points directly to vma->anon_name and it is used after the call to vma_merge. In the cases when vma_merge merges the original vma and destroys it, this might result in UAF. For that the original vma would have to hold the anon_vma_name with the last reference. The following vma would need to contain a different anon_vma_name object with the same string. Such scenario is shown below: madvise_vma_behavior(vma) madvise_update_vma(vma, ..., anon_name == vma->anon_name) vma_merge(vma) __vma_adjust(vma) <-- merges vma with adjacent one vm_area_free(vma) <-- frees the original vma replace_vma_anon_name(anon_name) <-- UAF of vma->anon_name Fix this by raising the name refcount and stabilizing it. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20220224231834.1481408-3-surenb@google.com Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20220223153613.835563-3-surenb@google.com Fixes: 9a10064f5625 ("mm: add a field to store names for private anonymous memory") Signed-off-by: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com> Reported-by: syzbot+aa7b3d4b35f9dc46a366@syzkaller.appspotmail.com Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Alexey Gladkov <legion@kernel.org> Cc: Chris Hyser <chris.hyser@oracle.com> Cc: Christian Brauner <brauner@kernel.org> Cc: Colin Cross <ccross@google.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com> Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org> Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Xiaofeng Cao <caoxiaofeng@yulong.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/madvise.c8
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/madvise.c b/mm/madvise.c
index 1f2693dccf7b..38d0f515d548 100644
--- a/mm/madvise.c
+++ b/mm/madvise.c
@@ -131,6 +131,8 @@ static int replace_anon_vma_name(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
/*
* Update the vm_flags on region of a vma, splitting it or merging it as
* necessary. Must be called with mmap_sem held for writing;
+ * Caller should ensure anon_name stability by raising its refcount even when
+ * anon_name belongs to a valid vma because this function might free that vma.
*/
static int madvise_update_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
struct vm_area_struct **prev, unsigned long start,
@@ -945,6 +947,7 @@ static int madvise_vma_behavior(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
unsigned long behavior)
{
int error;
+ struct anon_vma_name *anon_name;
unsigned long new_flags = vma->vm_flags;
switch (behavior) {
@@ -1010,8 +1013,11 @@ static int madvise_vma_behavior(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
break;
}
+ anon_name = anon_vma_name(vma);
+ anon_vma_name_get(anon_name);
error = madvise_update_vma(vma, prev, start, end, new_flags,
- anon_vma_name(vma));
+ anon_name);
+ anon_vma_name_put(anon_name);
out:
/*