add documentation about filename_format directory behavior
authorJosef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>
Wed, 11 Oct 2017 20:15:19 +0000 (16:15 -0400)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Wed, 11 Oct 2017 20:16:33 +0000 (14:16 -0600)
We've changed the behavior of filename_format, document that fact.

Signed-off-by: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
HOWTO
fio.1

diff --git a/HOWTO b/HOWTO
index d3f957b..a1513e1 100644 (file)
--- a/HOWTO
+++ b/HOWTO
@@ -795,6 +795,13 @@ Target file/device
        named :file:`testfiles.4`. The default of :file:`$jobname.$jobnum.$filenum`
        will be used if no other format specifier is given.
 
+       If you specify a path then the directories will be created up to the
+       main directory for the file.  So for example if you specify
+       ``filename_format=a/b/c/$jobnum`` then the directories a/b/c will be
+       created before the file setup part of the job.  If you specify
+       :option:`directory` then the path will be relative that directory,
+       otherwise it is treated as the absolute path.
+
 .. option:: unique_filename=bool
 
        To avoid collisions between networked clients, fio defaults to prefixing any
diff --git a/fio.1 b/fio.1
index 6e7d1f8..7787ef2 100644 (file)
--- a/fio.1
+++ b/fio.1
@@ -578,6 +578,12 @@ fio generate filenames that are shared between the two. For instance, if
 `testfiles.$filenum' is specified, file number 4 for any job will be
 named `testfiles.4'. The default of `$jobname.$jobnum.$filenum'
 will be used if no other format specifier is given.
+.P
+If you specify a path then the directories will be created up to the main
+directory for the file.  So for example if you specify `a/b/c/$jobnum` then the
+directories a/b/c will be created before the file setup part of the job.  If you
+specify \fBdirectory\fR then the path will be relative that directory, otherwise
+it is treated as the absolute path.
 .RE
 .TP
 .BI unique_filename \fR=\fPbool