smalloc: cleanup firstfree()
authorJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Wed, 31 Jul 2019 21:27:27 +0000 (15:27 -0600)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Wed, 31 Jul 2019 21:29:48 +0000 (15:29 -0600)
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
smalloc.c

index 0d7054a..125e07b 100644 (file)
--- a/smalloc.c
+++ b/smalloc.c
@@ -338,18 +338,23 @@ void sfree(void *ptr)
        log_err("smalloc: ptr %p not from smalloc pool\n", ptr);
 }
 
-static unsigned int firstfree(struct pool *pool)
+static unsigned int find_best_index(struct pool *pool)
 {
-        unsigned int i;
+       unsigned int i;
+
+       assert(pool->free_blocks);
 
-        for (i = 0; i < pool->nr_blocks; i++)
-                if (pool->bitmap[i] != -1U)
-                        return i;
+       for (i = pool->next_non_full; pool->bitmap[i] == -1U; i++) {
+               if (i == pool->nr_blocks - 1) {
+                       unsigned int j;
 
-        assert(0);
+                       for (j = 0; j < pool->nr_blocks; j++)
+                               if (pool->bitmap[j] != -1U)
+                                       return j;
+               }
+       }
 
-       /* we will never get here but this fixes a compiler warning */
-       return -1U;
+       return i;
 }
 
 static void *__smalloc_pool(struct pool *pool, size_t size)
@@ -366,16 +371,11 @@ static void *__smalloc_pool(struct pool *pool, size_t size)
        if (nr_blocks > pool->free_blocks)
                goto fail;
 
-       for (i = pool->next_non_full; pool->bitmap[i] == -1U; i++)
-               if (i == pool->nr_blocks - 1) {
-                       i = firstfree(pool);
-                       break;
-               }
-
-       pool->next_non_full = i;
+       pool->next_non_full = find_best_index(pool);
 
        last_idx = 0;
        offset = -1U;
+       i = pool->next_non_full;
        while (i < pool->nr_blocks) {
                unsigned int idx;