doc: clarify what --alloc-size does
authorVincent Fu <vincent.fu@wdc.com>
Wed, 11 Sep 2019 14:56:39 +0000 (10:56 -0400)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Wed, 11 Sep 2019 15:00:16 +0000 (09:00 -0600)
The alloc-size option actually directs fio to allocate additional shared
memory pools of the specified size, augmenting the default allocation.

Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
HOWTO
fio.1

diff --git a/HOWTO b/HOWTO
index 6b449e9..4fef150 100644 (file)
--- a/HOWTO
+++ b/HOWTO
@@ -222,8 +222,8 @@ Command line options
 
 .. option:: --alloc-size=kb
 
-       Set the internal smalloc pool size to `kb` in KiB.  The
-       ``--alloc-size`` switch allows one to use a larger pool size for smalloc.
+       Allocate additional internal smalloc pools of size `kb` in KiB.  The
+       ``--alloc-size`` option increases shared memory set aside for use by fio.
        If running large jobs with randommap enabled, fio can run out of memory.
        Smalloc is an internal allocator for shared structures from a fixed size
        memory pool and can grow to 16 pools. The pool size defaults to 16MiB.
diff --git a/fio.1 b/fio.1
index e0283f7..77a2d79 100644 (file)
--- a/fio.1
+++ b/fio.1
@@ -112,8 +112,8 @@ only applies to job sections. The reserved *global* section is always
 parsed and used.
 .TP
 .BI \-\-alloc\-size \fR=\fPkb
-Set the internal smalloc pool size to \fIkb\fR in KiB. The
-\fB\-\-alloc\-size\fR switch allows one to use a larger pool size for smalloc.
+Allocate additional internal smalloc pools of size \fIkb\fR in KiB. The
+\fB\-\-alloc\-size\fR option increases shared memory set aside for use by fio.
 If running large jobs with randommap enabled, fio can run out of memory.
 Smalloc is an internal allocator for shared structures from a fixed size
 memory pool and can grow to 16 pools. The pool size defaults to 16MiB.