docs: clarify usage of steadystate detection feature
authorVincent Fu <vincent.fu@wdc.com>
Fri, 21 Sep 2018 15:37:17 +0000 (11:37 -0400)
committerVincent Fu <vincent.fu@wdc.com>
Fri, 21 Sep 2018 15:45:58 +0000 (11:45 -0400)
Note that most intended uses of the steadystate detection feature
likely also need the --time_based and --runtime options or the
--loops option so that fio does not stop running after accessing
the full size of the device(s) or file(s).

HOWTO
fio.1

diff --git a/HOWTO b/HOWTO
index 45cf0bd..9528904 100644 (file)
--- a/HOWTO
+++ b/HOWTO
@@ -3000,6 +3000,10 @@ Steady state
        data from the rolling collection window. Threshold limits can be expressed
        as a fixed value or as a percentage of the mean in the collection window.
 
+       When using this feature, most jobs should include the :option:`time_based`
+       and :option:`runtime` options or the :option:`loops` option so that fio does not
+       stop running after it has covered the full size of the specified file(s) or device(s).
+
                **iops**
                        Collect IOPS data. Stop the job if all individual IOPS measurements
                        are within the specified limit of the mean IOPS (e.g., ``iops:2``
diff --git a/fio.1 b/fio.1
index 81164ae..5c11d96 100644 (file)
--- a/fio.1
+++ b/fio.1
@@ -2671,6 +2671,12 @@ steady state assessment criteria. All assessments are carried out using only
 data from the rolling collection window. Threshold limits can be expressed
 as a fixed value or as a percentage of the mean in the collection window.
 .RS
+.P
+When using this feature, most jobs should include the \fBtime_based\fR
+and \fBruntime\fR options or the \fBloops\fR option so that fio does not
+stop running after it has covered the full size of the specified file(s)
+or device(s).
+.RS
 .RS
 .TP
 .B iops